Tags

, , , , , ,

marnie 2e

New York Internation Children’s Film Festival: Marnie & Satellite Girl

Earlier this week the New York International Children’s Film Festival (NYICFF) announced that Studio Ghibli’s「思い出のマーニー」(Omoide no Mani/When Marnie Was There, 2014) will be on its programme. The screening will be the North American premiere for the film, which so far has only been shown in Japan (last July) and at the Rotterdam International Film Festival (these past few days).

The choice isn’t that surprising given that GKids is behind the festival – GKids being the North American distributor of several Studio Ghibli films and also the company that holds licensing rights for Omoide no Mani in the region. The NYICFF runs from February 27 to 22, 2015. It will also be showing the Korean animation 우리별 일호와 얼룩소 (Wooribyeol Ilhowa Eolrukso/Satellite Girl and Milk Cow, 2013), which I recently reviewed, as well Murakami Takashi’s debut film「めめめのくらげ」(Mememe no Kurage/Jellyfish Eyes, Japan, 2013) – Sometani Shota is among the cast members.

Blog Update

As you may have noticed, I haven’t posted much lately – I have been back in London town for a couple of weeks already, but am quite busy at the moment. So busy that I’m only attending a single film from the Japan Foundation Touring Film Programme, which kicked off yesterday. The good news however is that I will heading to Paris for a (very) short trip soon to see the Studio Ghibli exhibition Les secrets du Layout pour comprendre l’animation de Takahata & Miyazaki before it closes on March 1st! I will be bringing along my camera (my shiny new Nikon D610) of course – indeed, my sole plan for Paris is Ghibli exhibition + wandering the streets to take pictures. And maybe the cat café, if it isn’t to busy.

Related Posts: