Tags

, , , ,

Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.34.02 pm

After the 1:43 min trailer from nearly two weeks ago, we now have an extended (2:43 min) one from Studio Ghibli – clearly gearing up for the film’s release in Japan in three days (two days, if we go by the timezone that Japan is in).

The trailer is so far without subtitles. I can’t tell you in detail what is going on although I can pick up some phrases (Marnie asking Anna in disbelief if she’s really a person when they first meet, one of them declaring it’s not a dream, the two girls swearing to keep each other’s existence secret from everyone else, and confirming their eternal friendship by yelling “I like you!”).

I made some screenshots – many of which are of scenes that have been taken over from the original book, although the change of setting to Japan means that some details are different. However, Anna’s interaction with another girl (the one in the blue kimono), the fancy party at Marnie’s house and specifically the scene with the flower basket are all straight from Joan Robinson’s imagination. I’m sort of glad about this. I don’t mean to suggest that adaptations need exactly stick to the source material, but it’s just that in this case the source material was already so suited to the kind of stories Studio Ghibli tells, that few changes were really needed.

The opening shot of the trailer did make me wonder about the time period – the original story takes place in the 1960s, but this train looks more modern to me. It’s difficult to say though and everything else in the trailer could be from half a century ago but also from more recently. It doesn’t matter much, because the story of Anna and Marnie is a pretty timeless one.Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 9.06.18 pm

I also don’t remember the girls going mushroom-picking in the forest nor the wooden house, but my memory may be deceiving me here. Again, if these are changes that were made, I have no objection as I’m still sensing from the trailer that it is focusing on what is most important: on conveying Anna’s feelings of loneliness and how her world changes through the friendship with Marnie.Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.34.09 pmScreen Shot 2014-07-16 at 9.07.31 pm

The windmill seems to have become just a tower. It still however looks very similar to the real-life one in Norfolk (which is actually called ‘Tower Windmill’).Screen Shot 2014-07-16 at 8.36.17 pm

There has also been a first review of the film, from Twitchfilm. I’m not linking it as it contains a major spoiler, a detail that in the book was revealed only towards the very end. While I don’t know if Studio Ghibli is sticking to that approach, if they do, I certainly don’t want to take a chance on spoiling anyone’s viewing experience because in the novel the late revelation really made a difference for the overall atmosphere of the story.

Related Posts: