Tags

, ,

BFI Anime Weekend

The BFI Anime Weekend – a biennial event – is returning this year, bringing some of the best of recent Japanese animations to London for a long weekend. It comes a bit early this year (in 2012 the weekend was in June), with the following programme:

Friday, May 16:

  • 「サカサマのパテマ」(Sakasama no Patema/Patema Inverted, Japan, 2013)

Dir. by Yoshiura Yasuhiro.

  • 攻殻機動隊 ARISE -GHOST IN THE SHELL」(Kōkaku Kidōtai Araizu -Gōsuto In Za Sheru/Ghost in the Shell: Arise – Part 1: Ghost Pain and Part 2: Ghost Whispers)

Dir. by Kise Kazuchika.

Saturday, May 17:

  • ヱヴァンゲリヲン新劇場版」(Q Evangerion Shin Gekijōban: Kyū/Evangelion 3.0: You Can (Not) Redo, Japan, 2013)

Dir. by Anno Hideaki.

Note: A second screening of another film was just cancelled, it may be that the BFI will try to look for a replacement.

Sunday, May 18:

  • 「言の葉の庭」(Kotonoha no Niwa/Garden of Words, Japan, 2013) and「ハル」(Haru/Hal, Japan, 2013)

Dir. by Shinkai Makoto and Makihara Ryōtarō respectively.

  • 「タイガー&バニー」 (Taigā Ando Bani/Tiger & Bunny: The Rising, Japan, 2014)

>Dir. by Keiichi Sato.

  • 「青の祓魔師(エクソシスト)」 (Ao no Ekusoshisut/Blue Exorcist, Japan, 2012)

  • 「ワンピースフィルム ストロングワールド」(Wan Pīsu Firumu: Sutorongu Wārudo/One Piece: Strong World, Japan, 2009)

Dir. by Munehisa Sakai.

What to see? I confess I’m less excited about this programme than I was about the one two years ago (I went to see three films then, but also skipped two more wonderful ones I had already seen).  I unfortunately can’t make the Kotonoha no Niwa/Haru screening, which is disappointing as I was particularly keen on seeing the latter (I have the All the Anime DVD release for the former, so I don’t mind missing it – although seeing Shinkai Makoto’s art on the big screen would have been a special treat). Otherwise, I’m considering Ghost in the Shell: Arise, though I’m wary that it will never be as good as the first film, plus, I haven’t seen any of the others in between. Sakasama no Patema may be worth a try too, although the trailer doesn’t entice me too much (it’s bland, but we’ve all seen crappy trailers for good films).The rest of the films scheduled aren’t the kind of anime I’m too keen on, although I’m sure there’ll be plenty of delighted fans – some are screen adaptations of highly popular mangas.

Tickets can already be booked here.

Bonus Bits: