Tags

It’s going to be a super-short Trailer Weekly today, with only two clips, because I’m really, really busy at the moment (more about that below). I wasn’t even sure if this Trailer Weekly was going to happen at all, but then I thought I should really squeeze these two trailers in because they just can’t wait…

Trailers

  • 맞춤희곡 (Majchumhuigog/The Customised Play, South Korea, 2013)

Dir. by Jin Sung-choi (Brian Jin)

I stumbled across Majchumhuigog earlier this week (someone tweeted about it). What to say? It’s gorgeous. I’m utterly in love. I don’t know the details, I hadn’t heard of the director before, but it really doesn’t matter at all: this is a gem that I can’t wait to see. I haven’t got time to do my super-googling (my normal way of proceeding in such situations), but I do know that Jin has two other films (both shorts, I believe) and you can expect a detailed post on anything I can find about Jin/Majchumhuigog/his other works in June. Meanwhile, watch this trailer and be awed by a magical world unfolding before your eyes.

And enjoy some more images below – I just love how creative each and every one is. There is a whole world in every single picture, don’t you think?

customized play 1 customized play 2 customized play 3 customized play 5

  • 「攻殻機動隊 ARISE – GHOST IN THE SHELL」(Kōkaku Kidōtai Araizu – Gōsuto In Za Sheru/Ghost in the Shell – Arise, Japan, 2013)

Dir. by Kise Kazuchika.

This is another exciting trailer, although I must admit that I’m not all that excited about it myself. What we have is another instalment of「攻殻機動隊」(Gōsuto In Za Sheru – Kōkaku Kidōtai/Ghost in the Shell), a prequel apparently. I have watched only the first film and loved it to bits, but I’m wary of sequels (or prequels). Well, I have heard that the other parts (all the other existing movies and the anime series) are good, but the 1995 film set the bar very high. I just don’t expect Arise to measure up to that, plus, we have got a different director here. Still, I will eventually work myself through all Ghost in the Shell instalments, including this one.

Note: Kōkaku Kidōtai Araizu – Gōsuto In Za Sheru will be out in Japanese cinemas in June.

Busy busy busy…

I’ve been rather busy writing a chapter for my PhD these days, something that I’m still behind on. But I’m about to get even busier because it’s May. If you were reading Otherwhere last year, you might remember what this means. Exams…. I need to mark exams against a non-negotiable deadline. Starting from tomorrow. Which means not doing anything else, including no film watching, no reviewing, no blogging, no social life, nothing until the end of the month (well, somehow, I’m going to squeeze in some PhD writing time. And a few hours of tutoring at uni).

So bear with me (or without me), I’ll be back in early June I promise.

busy busy