Tags

I flew into Dublin earlier today (I’m here for an academic conference). While the guy at the reception of place where I am staying was giving me directions for downtown, he grumbled that I would have to pass by Dublin’s ugly “needle” – which very obviously he didn’t like.

But when I did walk past, I could not help but smile:「雲のむこう、約束の場所」 (Kumo no Mukō, Yakusoku no Basho/The Place Promised in Our Early Days, 2004) instantly came to mind.

Dublin’s Needle.

Some images from Shinkai Makoto’s wonderful anime (in case you haven’t seen it and don’t know what I’m talking about):

If you indeed haven’t watched it, you should! It’s absolutely gorgeous and probably my favourite of Shinkai’s films.

Signing off for today, as I still have to put finishing touches (okay, a bit more than that) to the paper I’m presenting tomorrow. But I should have a post on Song Hae-seong (송해성), the KCCUK’s director of the month by the end of the weekend and hopefully – finally – a first film review from the London Film Festival by next week.

P.S. If anyone has recommendations for Dublin, do let me know – I’ve got a day to explore on Sunday. I think it’s the first time I’m here since the mid-90s (way back when I came on holiday with my parents)…