Tags

, , , ,

… well, I do in any case.

So here’s my promised full line-up post for Scotland Loves Animewhich enters its third year and is only getting bigger and better (so they say – I haven’t actually attended the event myself before). The festival will take place in Glasgow (October 12-14) and Edinburgh (October 19-21), with a slightly different programme for each location.

I’m starting with the Edinburgh line-up, just because I’m so excited about… I bet you can guess which film.

Note: If you click on the film title, it will take you to Scotland Loves Anime‘s page for that the particular film, which includes a synopsis and often a trailer. Exact days and times are not yet available and details on guests and special events are also yet to be announced.

EDINBURGH PROGRAMME (October 19-21)

Of course it’s Hosoda Mamoru’s Ōkami No Kodomo Ame To Yuki which I’m so thrilled about. I’ve been babbling about this film on Otherwhere since Trailer Weekly #14 in December, here, here, here (Bonus Bits), here (also Bonus Bits), here (Bonus Bits again) and finally here. I have been working up all this anticipation, so it better not disappoint me! I want something I can looooove as much as 「時をかける少女」 (Toki o Kakeru Shoujo – The Girl Who Leapt through Time, 2006), not something like 「サマーウォーズ」 (Samā Wōzu/Summer Wars, 2009), which I thought was okay but not I-can-watch-this-a-zillion-times. I’ve heard good things via Twitter and the screen shots I’ve seen make it look like a film full of laughter (those super-smily, adorable wolf kids!), which is interesting given that the death of a parent is part of the story line. It could pack a real punch with contrasting emotions, fingers crossed!

Now, here’s an interesting bit: if you look closely at the Ōkami No Kodomo Ame To Yuki page on Scotland Loves Anime it says “Scottish Premiere”. Scottish. Not UK. Which instantly makes me wonder if the film is set to screen anywhere else before this event. But there aren’t really that many festivals taking place before October that would screen a film like this. Zipangu already announced its line-up (post to follow once their website is up and running), plus Ōkami No Kodomo wouldn’t have been quirky enough for them. Raindance does have a Japanese section each year, but they don’t normally have anime on the programme as far as I know. The Leeds International Film Festival did show「星を追う子ども」 (Hoshi o Ou Kodomo/Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below, 2011) and 「蛍火の杜へ」 (Hotarubi no Mori e/The Light of a Firefly Forest, 2011) last year, but only takes place in November. Which only leaves… the BFI Film Festival! That one is scheduled for October 10-21, so just before Scotland Loves Anime. It had Hoshi o Ou Kodomo on the programme last year and the BFI has shown lots of love to anime at other times as well, including with the Anime Weekend Showcase in June and the upcoming 「劇場版 TIGER & BUNNY -The Beginning」 (Gekijō-ban Tiger & Bunny – The Beginning/Tiger & Bunny: The Beginning, 2012) anime preview in September. So, dare I say it? I think there is a chance. Just a hunch of course.

Nerawareta Gakuen was announced previously and will have its international premiere in Scotland. I mentioned it a few weeks back when it was first confirmed on the programme and it’s definitely on my to-see list. I don’t expect it to be superb, but certainly enjoyable. Plus some nice visuals. The colour tones seem to be rather Shinkai in some instances.

UK premiere for film 1 and European premiere for film 2. This one was pre-announced.

Another pre-announced one. It’s an oldie, but some of the screen caps look rather pretty. Anyone seen this?

UK premiere. For the vampire-horror fans out there.

Scottish premiere.

UPDATE 25/7/2012: Okay, I felt like I needed to add something here, because I said at least a sentence about every film except this one. I thought this was some dark horror thing but actually it’s not: apparently it’s an animated slapstick comedy in which a human anatomical model haunts an elite elementary school after midnight. It’s opening in Japan today and what’s also interesting is that its producers have submitted it for the “Best Animated Feature” category of the Oscars! Oh, and I just noticed that the anatomical model is called “Kunstlijk” – that’s Dutch for “art corpse” or “artificial corpse” (in literal translation, there is no such word by itself of course). Makes me wonder who was on the film’s production team to come up with such insider word play (since it’s obviously something that will be lost on most!).

UPDATE 2 18/9/2012: REVIEW added on Otherwhere.

Two hours. Four shorts. The future (“mirai”/未来) of animation. It’s a “collective project from four Japanese production studios selected by the Japan Animation Creators Association (JAniCA) under the patronage of the Agency for Cultural Affairs for the purpose of training young animators on-the-job”. Showing will be:

  • 「ぷかぷかジュジュ」(Pukapuka Juju/Juju the Weightless Dugong, Japan, 2012) – directed by Kawamata Hiroshi.
  • 「しらんぷり」(Shiran Puri/Pretending not to See, Japan, 2012) – directed by Miyashita Shinpei.
  • 「わすれなぐも」 (Wasurenagumo/Li’l Spider Girl,  Japan, 2012) – direced by Kaiya Toshihisa.
  •  「BUTA」(Buta/Buta,  Japan, 2012) – directed by Tomonaga Kazuhide.

Like it!

GLASGOW PROGRAMME

The Glasgow line-up is essentially the same as for Edinburgh minus Ōkami No Kodomo Ame To Yuki, the second Beserk film (The Battle for Doldrey) and Nerawareta Gakuen. On the other hand, there are some additional films you can watch:

European premiere. Gotta say I’m kinda digging the London-set screen shots – anime high school girls doing a Beatles thing on Abbey Road.

This one, a horror anime, already screened down south in London recently, including at the Terracotta Film Fest. I don’t have the nerves (although I like the art style) but Genkinahito rather enjoyed it.

UK premiere. Originally a video game, then a manga, Takashi Miike adapted Gyakuten Saiban into a live-action film – a dark and tense courtroom drama. Too bad it’s only showing in Glasgow, Narimiya Hiroki is looking ace here.

Final notes:

1) Scotland Loves Anime will also feature a day of lectures on animation and the animation industry.

2) Shinkai Makoto’s Hoshi o Ou Kodomo was pre-announced for Scotland Loves Anime as well, but I’m not seeing it on the programme. Maybe it’s not happening after all? It already screened at a number of British film festivals since last October, so it would not be all that surprising.

3) Animenewsnetwork also writes the following: “There will also be a “mystery” film at the Edinburgh weekend, and three “special” slots at the Edinburgh venue, on October 15, 16 and 17. The line-up for these slots will be announced later.” Exciting, exciting. Now I’m wracking my mind what else could be screening.