This is going to be an anime Trailer Weekly. Just because. A super short one too, but I’m literally falling asleep here and just cannot concentrate (「スローダンス」/Slow Dance, Japan, 2005 is to be blamed for this. I was watching till 3 a.m. – up to and including episode 9 – and had to get up at 6:30 for work). Apologies for any typos. I will fix them tomorrow.

  • 伏 鉄砲娘の捕物帳」 (Fuse Teppō Musume no Torimonochō/Fuse: A Gun Girl’s Detective Story, Japan, 2012) – First full trailer is now available. I’m still hesitant about the character design – particularly of the heroine – but if I get a chance to watch it, I definitely will.

Scotland Loves Anime, which I have firmly inked onto my calendar for October (Glasgow: 12-14, Edinburgh: 19-21), has been announcing films for its line-up: the first two parts of the new 「ベルセルク」 (Beserk, Japan, 2012) cinema trilogy, 「獣兵衛忍風帖」 (Jūbē Ninpūchō/Ninja Scroll, Japan, 1993) and Shinkai Makoto’s「星を追う子ども」 (Hoshi o Ou Kodomo/Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below, Japan, 2011), which is curiously being referred as Journey to Agartha (Are they trying to rename it? Admittedly, the original English title is a bit of a tongue twister and is also not quite accurate, but I still like it.). And one more film, which is the one that I am most interested in seeing so far:

  • ねらわれた学園」 (Nerawareta Gakuen, Japan, 2012) – Teaser only. I should say more here, but as I said, my brain isn’t functioning.
  • 灰羽連盟」 (Haibane-Renmei, Japan, 2002) – This is a 13-episode anime series from a decade ago. I have not seen it as it is really, really difficult to get hold of – unless you have a chunk of money to spare for one of the second-hand copies floating around on the internet (can some re-release this please?). What is linked isn’t an official trailer, but a fan-made video. I have heard that not everyone likes Haibane-Renmei, but it looks so utterly gorgeous (see below) that it immediately got me and that fan-vid only confirms it.

Haibane-Renmei: 2002 Anime Series.

Bonus Bits: