Tags

,

Get ready, because I’m going to bombard you with Studio Ghibli events.

I am talking about the animation studio’s North American tour of course, which so far has had stops in New York (NY), Portland (OR), Seattle (WA), Dallas (TX), Hollywood and Santa Monica (CA) as well as Toronto, Canada. But before I let you in on the details on a plethora of more destinations for the “Castles in the Sky” Retrospective, let’s talk Comic Con first – that’s where those images at the beginning of this post are from.

Comic Con is the world’s largest comic book and popular arts convention and is held in San Diego every year. Truth be told I know nothing about it, but this year it came with the release of two new, limited-run Olly Moss posters for Studio Ghibli. They are for 「もののけ姫」 (Mononokehime/Princess Mononoke, 1997), with 430 copies of the green-tinted version on the left and 225 of the red-tinted one on the right being available, both measuring 20×36 inches. I’m guessing there is a good chance they might be sold out by now as I first heard about them – a day or two ago – via a tweet of someone offering to pay US$250 for them (original retail price is US$50 and US$90 respectively)! In other words, demand for them is high!

I like these posters, but I think these prices are excessive. I guess they are collectors’ items, but it’s a bit of a pity that such things become exclusive. Well, who knows, maybe cheaper reprints will become available one day. Or maybe I’m just a stingy person (the most I’ve shelled out for a poster was US$25 + shipping for David Hockney’s Pearblossom Highway, which is still sitting in its original poster tube as it requires a too costly custom-made frame).

Olly Moss has only done one other set of Studio Ghibli posters (below), although he certainly isn’t new to film posters – click here to see what else he has illustrated.

Olly Moss for Studio Ghibli: 「となりのトトロ」 (Tonari no Totoro/My Neighbour Totoro, 1988).

Now, Studio Ghibli Retrospective… As I said, it’s coming to a whole lot more locations, from Utah to Haiwaii to Minnesota. For those of you who live in North America, I hope that means somewhere near you!

Upcoming stops:

(Note: Not all of these places have yet added the Ghibli films to their programmes.)

There are more stops still, but here further details, including exact dates for the event, have yet to be announced:

Wizard working his magic: ハウルの動く城 (Hauru no Ugoku Shiro/Howl’s Moving Castle, 2004).

Related Posts: