Tags


Trailer Weekly time again. Although I’m giving you a bored red fox here, I’m not actually bored, but this little guy was too cute not to share with you. Yeah, I know, very random. 🙂

Anyhoo, trailers… since it’s all about randomicity today, I’m going for a jumble of films from everywhere.

  • Children of God (Nepal/South Korea, 2008) – I reviewed Yi Seungjun’s gem of a documentary 달팽이의 별 (Dalpaengieui Byeol/Planet of Snail) earlier this week. As always, I did some research on the film and its director, discovering that he made another feature length documentary in 2009. Yi shows us the life homeless Nepali boys, who live by a holy site on the Baghmati river where funeral ceremonies are held and survive by scavenging from the dead. From all the reviews I have read, I have only heard good things – all 8 customer reviews on amazon.com give it 5 stars.
  • 岳-ガク」 (Gaku: Minna no Yama/Peak: The Rescuers, Japan, 2011) – Normally I would probably say ‘I want to watch this because Oguri Shun is in it’ and while that’s true, that isn’t the first reason that got me interested in this film on mountain rescuers. Rather it’s because back in high school, one of the community services I was involved in was Search and Rescue and while things never quite as dramatic as they seem to be in this film (although we did carry out some dead bodies one winter), Gaku: Minna no Yama is bound to stir some memories.
  • シュアリー・サムデイ」 (Shuari samudei/Surely Someday, Japan, 2010) – Since we are already talking Oguri Shun, I might as well throw in his directorial debut from 2010. A music band of 5 students threatens to blow up their high school after a festival is cancelled. Though the school meets their demands, they can’t defuse the homemade bomb, and life as they knew it gets blown apart. Three years on, the friends have all gone their own way, but the fateful day comes back to haunt them. Although there is clearly something whacky, the film isn’t an “undisciplined exercise in youthful hi-jinks” and neither “too goofy [n]or too dramatic” but a “pleasant surprise” (quotes from filmbiz.asia review).
  • De jueves a domingo (Thursday Till Sunday, Chile/The Netherlands, 2012) – Recently having received an honourary mention at the LA Film Festival, it doesn’t take much of the trailer of this Chilean-set road movie to realise that this is a skilfully made debut feature. There are subtleties in the performances – including from the child actors -, snippets of frames that already convince with their sensitivity and reveal an eye for a cinematography of ‘little things’, and music that hits exactly the right tone in its emphatic softness. I can only expect a lot from this “nuanced and elegiac coming-of-age story” in which “a family [arrives] at a crossroads, as the daughter slowly realizes the divide between the adults in the front seat and the kids in back” (quotes source).
  • LUV (USA, 2012) – Another compelling entrant from the LA Film Festival. Not so much a trailer as a clip from the film, it gives a glimpse into the life of 11-year old Woody, who is being raised by his grandmother and uncle. The focus is on the two males (the young one and the old one), “one struggling to escape his past and the other looking ahead to an uncertain future” (quote source).
  • Kosmos (Cosmos, Bulgaria/Turkey, 2010) – This looks … strangely gripping. It might end up being the stuff of nightmares (for a light tale it certainly doesn’t seem to spin), the trailer images combined with keywords from the ICA’s synopsis (where it recently screened) being rather telling. I think we could lengthily pick up apart those 2:46 trailer minutes on the base of use of animal symbolism and soundscore alone. Reha Erdem’s film is an “overflowing cauldron of ideas, of spooling narrative threads”, it comes in a “magic-realist style” and occupies “a hinterland between narrative and experimental cinema”. An “enthralling find” indeed.

Bonus bits (including random stuff):

  • Here is a link to a rather interesting article on Confucianism and the Female Roles in K-drama for those of you that watch Asian TV series. I came across it after a traffic to my review on 너는 펫 (Neoneun Pet/You’re My Pet, South Korea, 2011) spiked this week – turned out someone that commented on the article had quoted me. 🙂
  • For the Londoners: the Prince Charles Cinema has several special events coming up, including a screening of Studio Ghibli’s 千と千尋の神隠し (Spirited Away, Japan, 2001), a Disney Pixar Retrospective (Wall-e, Up, The Incredibles, Cars, Cars 2, Toy Story 3, Ratatouille) and a Comic Book All Nighter (nothing Japanese though boohoo, but you can watch Superman, Batman, Scott Pilgrim Vs The World, Sin City, X-Men, Spiderman and The Rocketeer). There is the Wes Fest – Wes Anderson Marathon too, but it has sold out already.
  • Since we’ve been going for random today, here’s some more. Remember when I mentioned the manwha 유토피아 (Utopia) back in Trailer Weekly #28, moaning about how the raws were really depressing? Well, webtoonlive.com has finally added a few more chapters in translation, so of course I’m back reading it. I know it’s not a good idea, I know it’s going to break my heart, but… ahhh. Don’t get me wrong. I think it’s a great manhwa, I just think it has the wrong ending.
  • Speaking of manhwas, I’ve also been reading 뇌호 (Nweho). I’m not sure really sure I dig it (it doesn’t seem too interesting just yet), but the fox-demon in human form is just mesmerising. Especially with those piercing blue eyes and the awesome mark around the left one (which, apparently, stupidly, was removed after the manhwa artist restarted the story):

Nweho – fox demon.