Tags

, ,

I don’t watch a lot of documentaries, because somehow they always pass me by and I kinda like my fictional tales (even if I like them realistic). But every now and then there is a documentary that comes along and captures my attention. Back in December that was 달팽이의 별 (Dalpaengieui Byeol/Planet of Snail, South Korea/Japan/Finland, 2011), which I first heard about when it won the top prize at the International Documentary Film Festival in Amsterdam. Of course, first I noticed it because it was a Korean production, then I was captivated by its trailer (and the beautiful explanation of the title: “We call ourselves ‘snails’ because we cannot hear or see and our lives are as slow as the snails. Now I live on earth where time runs so fast.”), so I couldn’t help but feature it in Trailer Weekly #11.

But I also mentioned it more recently, as the documentary is finally coming to the UK – it will be at Sheffield Doc/Fest on June 14, the ICA (London) is screening it from June 22-28, and  the Glasgow Film Theatre has it on the programme in August (27-30). I also heard some whispers that one of these screenings (the June 23rd one at the ICA) would include a Q&A with its director, Yi Seung-Jun, something that Dogwoof, the UK distributor for Dalpaengieui Byeol, confirmed today. I can’t wait. 🙂

Lotsa links:

P.S. Sort of unrelated but related: there’s a Korean manhwa 보지 못하고 듣지 못하고 사랑해! (Can’t See Can’t Hear But Love) which is entirely fictional but too has a story of two people who are disabled in some way but find a unique way of communicating.