Tags

, , ,

Third Window Film’s newly released UK film poster for ヒミズ (Himizu/Himizu)

The programme for the Terracotta Film Festival has been out for a few days already. I have to confess – I have been a bit selfish about this. I didn’t post the news on Otherwhere so far as I have (impatiently!) been waiting for tickets to go on sale (they still have not!) so I can snatch them up for the films I really, really, REALLY want to see before they sell out. Yes, I’m being a horribly inconsiderate film addict here, but the real question is of course, what I am so keen on that I have been holding back on spreading the news?

Well, other than closing film ヒミズ (Himizu/Himizu, Japan, 2011), announced already a while back along with the opening film 마이 웨이 (Ma-i We-i/My Way, South Korea, 2010), the big news is that the latest Studio Ghibli film is set to screen in at Terracotta! Yes, コクリコ坂から (Kokuriko-zaka Kara/From up on Poppy Hill, Japan, 2011, billed simply as Poppy Hill in the festival programme) will have its UK premiere in London next month. You can bet that that’s a screening that will sell out in no time.

コクリコ坂から (Kokuriko-zaka Kara/From up on Poppy Hill)

Himizu and Kokuriko-zaka Kara however aren’t the only films I want tickets for: there is キツツキと雨 (Kitsutsuki to Ame/The Woodsman and the Rain, Japan, 2012), which I mentioned in the last Trailer Weekly of 2011 and Kim Ki-duk’s documentary 아리랑 (Arirang/Arirang, South Korea, 2011), which Han-cinephiles are bound to be interested in. And one more: I hadn’t heard of 转山 (Zhuǎn shān/One Mile Above aka Kora, China, 2011) previously, but it sounds mightily good to me as well.

So, begrudgingly, here’s the full Terracotta 2012 line-up. 😉