Tags

, , ,

This morning I woke to find a parcel from the Korean Cultural Centre UK on the stairs – an envelope containing the film DVD 이끼 (I-ggi/Moss). The KCCUK sent me an email a few weeks back to let me know that I had won a DVD for diligently filling out a survey during the London Korean Film Festival back in October. I am not sure if they did a draw or chose DVD winners indeed by effort, but effort I did make – scribbling plenty of feedback on those forms, including a request to screen 도가니/Dogani, Silenced/The Crucible next year, do multiple showings of films and invite Kim Soo-hyun (they asked who we would like to see at the festival!). I even wrote film titles in Korean!

I wasn’t too sure what film DVD to expect from the KCCUK though. I had never heard of 이끼 (I-ggi/Moss), a Korean film from 2010, before this morning but it looks sufficiently interesting. 이끼 (I-ggi/Moss) is based on a Yun Tae-ho webtoon of the same title, and the DVD blurb describes it as a tale mixing “thrilling suspense and dark humour with a brooding, tense atmosphere that calls to mind films such as The Wicker Man and David Lynch’s Blue Velvet. With Lynch as a quality measurement, that’s promising enough for me. I plan on watching it soon, adding it to my rather expansive list of films to see and review during the holidays.

Other films I hope to tackle:

      • Studio Ghibli’s おもひでぽろぽろ (Omohide Poro Poro/Only Yesterday, directed by Takahata Isao) and 猫の恩返し (Neko no Ongaeshi/The Cat Returns, directed by Morita Hiroyuki). UPDATE: Review for Neko no Ongaeshi.
      • Kim Ki-duk’s 빈집 (Bin-jip/3-Iron) and 봄 여름 가을 겨울 그리고 봄 (Bom yeoreum gaeul gyeoul geurigo bom/Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter…and Spring). Sidenote: If anyone knows where to obtain a legit copy of Ki-duk’s 비몽 (Bimong/Dream), I would appreciate hints. I have had a hard time tracking it down. I’m looking for a Region 2 DVD preferably with English subtitles, although German, Spanish and Dutch would do as well (just that I couldn’t share the film with as many friends then). UPDATE: Review for Bin-jip and for Bom yeoreum gaeul gyeoul geurigo bom.
      • Satoshi Kon’s 千年女優 (Sennen Joyū/Millennium Actress) and Katabuchi Sunao’s マイマイ新子と千年の魔法 (Maimai Shinko to sen-nen no mahō/Mai Mai Miracle). UPDATE: Review for Maimai Shinko to sen-nen no mahō.
      • ลุงบุญมีระลึกชาติ (Lung Bunmi Raluek Chat/Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives).
      • Luchino Visconti’s 1971 Death in Venice.

It’s an ambitious list and I’m not sure if I will be able to work my way through it all over the course of the next four weeks as I have got plenty of uni work as well. I could get started tonight already, but instead I’ll relax with episodes 3 and 4 of 빠담빠담 (Bba-dam-bba-dam/Padam Padam) and admire Kim Bum’s abs and mane of glory while scanning books for my PhD research.

Kim Bum’s Mane of Glory (and Angel Wings) 

Lesson to be learned from this post: fill out surveys with diligence, because you might just win a free DVD. 🙂