Tags

, ,

The 55th BFI Film Festival finished a few days ago, but not without handing out some awards. I am happy to see that We Need to Talk about Kevin won Best Film. The Sutherland Award – for the director of “the most original and imaginative feature debut in the Festival” – was awarded to Las Acacias‘s Pablo Giorgelli). Hopefully I will be able to catch this film somewhere in the near future (bonus link: trailer).

Meanwhile, several festival films have now opened in British cinemas.

I made a point to see festival films that are unlikely to show up in any cinema, even in a city as in love with films as London, Terri being perhaps the only exception. I was generally happy with my choices (although there were plenty of films I would still have liked to see). Only = ハラがコレなんで/Hara Ga Kore Nande/Mitsuko Delivers was somewhat of a disappointment, others ranged from promising (星を追う子ども/Hoshi o Ou Kodomo/Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below), to thought-provoking (줄탁동시/Jooltak Dongshi/Stateless Things), to surprisingly funny (Terri) to quite wonderful (奇跡/Kiseki/I Wish). Hopefully next year’s line-up will be just as fantastic and feature plenty of Japanese and Korean productions again. I will keep my fingers crossed that I will be able to attend more Q&A’s as well.

On a completely different note, here is a list of Rachel Cooke’s Top 10 Graphic Novels from today’s Guardian – though I’m not quite sure what to make of it. Her choices mostly make me wonder how she defines “graphic novel” as opposed to “comic book” – or if there is any distinction between the two terms at all. Craig Thompson‘s Blankets (2003) does look worth a read.

P.S. How to know you are not in London: totally loving the knitting circle of (young to middle-aged!) Scottish ladies in Starbucks.