Tags


  • Roman Polanski’s Carnage – what a great combination of actors: Jodie Foster, Kate Winslet, Christoph Waltz and John C. Reilly. UPDATE 13/3/2012: Review added on Otherwhere.
  • HugoBased on The Invention of Hugo Cabret (pity they shortened it to Hugo for the film – I prefer cryptic titles) by Brian Selznick. It is one of those one-of-its-kind books and full of drawings. I have got it in some corner of my room but haven’t yet gotten around to reading it. I doubt I will go see the film in the cinema, but watching it at home on DVD with some hot chocolate in the midst of winter sounds good.

Some more highlights from the 55th BFI Film Festival:

  • Le Gamin au vélo (The Kid with a Bike, Belgium/France/Italy 2011)
  • Die Vaterlosen (The Fatherless, Austria 2011) – trailer not subtitled. UPDATE 14/7/2012: Review added on Otherwhere.
  • Eldfjall (Volcano, Denmark/Iceland 2011)
  • Like Crazy (USA 2011) – Sneaking suspicion that this one will not have a happy ending.
I have been unable to find trailers for these two films, but their synopses on the BFI website certainly make them sound interesting: