Tags

DSC_2364-3

Update: I still don’t have my computer back. I drafted this post previously, but wasn’t going to publish it for a while yet because I was planning to go back to Brick Lane for more photographs. However, since other posts aren’t really going to happen until I get my own computer back, I thought I might as well send this one out to the world in the meantime. (I actually have a film review ready too, but no pictures uploaded for it, as my picture folder is you-can-guess-where. And I don’t want to google for the same images again…)

When I moved to London in 2009, I didn’t know the city at all and, by pure chance, ended up living on a side street of Brick Lane, essentially sealing my fate to become an East Londoner (I have moved house twice since, but loyally stayed in the East, which is generally considered the ‘poorer’ and more ‘ethnically mixed’ part of the city. I think it’s young, alive and hip.). Brick Lane is known for its curry houses – thanks to a large number of Bangladeshi immigrants, it has been London’s ‘Banglatown’ for decades – but also its weekend market, where everything from vintage clothes to unique art is sold. Another highlight are the food stalls, which serve cheap and tasty treats from all around the world.

Note: Obviously the white corner of the header photo needs to be blackened out. I just don’t own an editing programme at the moment that lets me do that.

There is lots of Japanese food to be had, including takoyaki:DSC_2398DSC_2400

Dumplings are everywhere, including Japanese gyoza, Tibetan momos and these Chinese baozi:DSC_2380DSC_2379

More baozi at another stall:DSC_2890

No wonder people can’t resist to grab a bite. Because Sundays at Brick Lane get really crowded, everyone just ends up sitting everywhere. The pavement is always full of lunching individuals.DSC_2431

Once you’ve filled your tummy, you walk about and find some quirky presents for family and friends.DSC_2850

Here’s a trader, peddling his folded paper jewellery:DSC_2859

You can even get a haircut in the midst of it all!DSC_2416

Spitalsfield (clothes, food, bric-a-brac) and Petticoat Lane (fabrics) are just around the corner too. Vintage cameras and letter printing stamps at Spitalsfield:DSC_2453

Smiley Korean girls. I can’t remember what they were selling. I should go back and give them a print of this photograph.DSC_2422

Brick Lane and its surrounding areas are always buzzing on the weekend, but sometimes you will find someone having a quiet moment of their own.DSC_2860

For non-London readers: if you ever come to town, I do much recommend reserving a Sunday for visiting Brick Lane and surrounding areas!