Tags

, ,

ghibli docu

While the founders and rocks of Studio Ghibli – Miyazaki Hayao and Takahata Isao – were busy working away on their films「風立ちぬ」(Kaze Tachinu/The Wind Rises) and「かぐや姫の物語」(Kaguya Hime no Monogatari/Princess Kaguya) respectively, Sunada Mami had his camera on them to make the first documentary on the animation studio: 「夢と狂気の王国」(Yume to Kyōki no Ōkoku/The Kingdom of Dreams & Madness, Japan, 2013).

Ōkoku is set to be released in Japan this coming Saturday, which means a TV ad and some other video clips have now popped up. First, there was a 15 second televsion announcement, which I did not post here because it was originally only possible to see it if signing up to some website or signing in through Facebook (I’m not a fan of this kind of approach).

Fortunately, more video clips have now been released and are available freely on Youtube. We have both a trailer:

and a so-called digest video (longer, at 7 minutes):

Subtitles are in the works for the documentary, so it seems that an international release is planned for some unknown point in the future. That’s certainly good news, although I’ll confess I’m not sure I would actually watch it if I had the chance. What I want to really, really to see are Kaze Tachinu and Kaguya Hime no Monogatari, which we’ve been waiting for here in the UK for quite some time already (especially Kaze Tachinu). With ŌkokuI’ll hold out for the reviews and make my decision then.

News via Anime New Network.

Bonus Bits:

  • Studio Ghibli Bluray covers:

ghibli bluray covers

  • Super-kawai Totoro. What can I say, I’m easily entertained…totoro in hiding