Tags

,

The East Asian Film Society of Coventry University (UK) and Third Window Films are organising East Winds, a film festival plus conference on East Asian Cinema on March 2-4, 2012. I think entry might be free – but don’t quote me on that just yet (will check and report back).

I don’t have any details on the conference papers (the CfP deadline was only yesterday), but there is a schedule for the film screenings already:

Friday, March 2

  • 転々 (Tenten/Adrift in Tokyo, Japan, 2007) – I featured this film in the most recent Trailer Weekly, so you can find a trailer there.
  • 竞雄女侠·秋瑾 (Woman Knight of Mirror Lake, China/Hong Kong, 2011)

Saturday, March 3

  • イン・ザ・プール (In za puru/In the Pool, Japan, 2005)
    Screening plus  Q&A
  • 황해 (Hwang Hae/Yellow Sea, South Korea, 2010)
  • 我不卖身,我卖子宫 (Wo Bu Mai Shen Wo Mai Zi Gong/True Women for Sale, Hong Kong, 2010)
    Screening plus Q&A

Sunday, March 4

    • 亀は意外と速く泳ぐ (Kame wa igai to hayaku oyogu/Turtles are Surprisingly Fast Swimmers, Japan, 2005)
    • ハラがコレなんで (Hara Ga Kore Nande/Mitsuko Delivers, Japan, 2011) – I reviewed this film back in October.
    • 星空 (Starry Starry Night, Taiwan, 2011)
      Screening plus Q&A

I was originally only going to attend for only one day, but ohhh! I’m going to have to rework my schedule. I am really, really thrilled about 星空 (Starry Starry Night), which should be superb to see on a big screen – you might remember I got all excited about it back in Trailer Weekly #7.

Short synopses and programme details are available on the festival website. I will also post an update once the conference talks programme is finalised.

星空 (Starry Starry Night, Taiwan, 2011)

Some London screening updates too:

  • 怪猫謎の三味線 (Kaibyō nazo no shamisen/The Ghost Cat and the Mysterious Shamisen, Japan, 1938) – The Cinema Museum is doing a rare screening of this Japanese horror flick on Saturday, February 18th. I hadn’t heard of the Cinema Museum before, but they sound pretty neat. Not sure I’ll go watch this one though – I haven’t got the stomach/nerves/etc. for horror…
  • The always very Japanese-friendly ICA has got two films on its schedule for April: 山椒大夫 (Sanshō Dayū/Sansho the Bailiff, 1954) and 雨月物語 (Ugetsu Monogatari/Tales of the Rain and the Moon, 1953), which should be of particular interest for those of you into old films.

With this constant offering of wonderful films I sometimes feel a bit guilty about living in London (especially to all you non-London readers!). I might have a hard time packing my bags when the time comes…

怪猫謎の三味線 (Kaibyō nazo no shamisen/The Ghost Cat and the Mysterious Shamisen, Japan, 1938)